The Butcher

I haven’t been on a first date in few months, but I started chatting with this guy on pof and he seemed fairly normal. He’s a butcher. He actually messaged me awhile ago, maybe a month or more and we had a brief conversation about horror movies and he suggested we watch one together sometime. I was kind of bored with the conversation so I didn’t respond back. Fast forward to a couple weeks later and he messaged me again. The conversation was better this time and we exchanged phone numbers. He’s going through a separation and was dividing his time between a friend’s house and a hotel. We were texting late one night and he asked me if I wanted to go over and eat Chinese food with him. I believe he worded it something along the lines of “this may be forward, but would you like to come over and share some Chinese with me?” I declined because we hadn’t yet met and going to this strangers hotel room at midnight sounded shady. (It’s amazing the things I think are unsafe or inappropriate when I haven’t been drinking.) He was ok with that. We chatted for the next week/week and a half or so, and made supper plans for a night we both had free.

He picked me up (last Monday), and we went to Lancaster’s for some food and drinks. He was much better looking in person than he was in his pictures. We had nice conversation, shared some laughs, it was a good date. He dropped me off, and then texted me when he got home to tell me he had a great time and how nervous he was to meet me. Cute. I think I was his first date in about 18 years. But that was kind of it. We texted briefly a few time after that, but I haven’t spoken to him in days now. So I guess it was just a first date.

Speaking of confusing, remember Cam? So every once in awhile, one of us will text the other, just a quick hello, see how things are. I generally just do it when I’m going to be in Saskatoon. I was in Saskatoon just last weekend and sent him a message to see what he was up to. He told me he had the weekend off and to let him know what my plans were and we’d meet up for a drink. Oh, this was also after when I asked him what was new, he responded by telling me he and his girlfriend broke up. I didn’t even know he had a girlfriend. But, I guess he wanted me to know he’s available? I don’t know. So while my friend napped, I was on Tinder to see what Saskatoon had to offer, and who do you think popped up? Yep, Cam. So, I swiped right and it was a match. (That means he had already swiped right on my picture, basically saying yes, he wants to talk to me) He immediately sends me a message saying hello and we chat on there for a bit. He was having some drinks and then heading out to a concert and would try to meet up with me later. Great! I sent him a text later to let him know where we would be. I didn’t hear back, but I did see someone who looked a lot like him across the bar wandering around like he was looking for someone, but I was trapped in a booth by some guy who decided to sit down and hit on me. So I texted him asking if he was there b/c I thought I just saw him. No response. For the rest of the weekend. No response for the entire weekend. I really don’t know what his deal is. Men.

One thought on “The Butcher

Leave a Reply

