Marcus, Sid, and Ontario Mike

I’ve had a few dates in the past couple of months. I’ll start with Marcus. Marcus lives in Saskatoon. We hit it off pretty quickly and messaged solidly for a couple of days. But he moved way too fast for me. After those first 2 or 3 days, he had hidden his pof profile, told all his friends about me, and just liked me soo much. That turned me off. Some girls would love that. Not me. Our first date went well. We talked easily, laughed, he was a gentleman, held doors open for me, paid for supper. But when he asked if he could hold my hand, I said no. I figured that was also a good time to tell him I don’t kiss on a first date either. I know, given my penchant for casual sex, this may seem a little off. But dating is different. When our date was over, he started to ask for a hug. It went something like this…

Marcus: So, can I have a hu…
Me: High five?

And then I put up my hand. Classic. That was really the moment I knew I wasn’t interested. We still had a second date, and it was nice, but I didn’t feel any kind of spark. We decided to be friends though, and have hung out several times since then whenever I’ve been in Saskatoon. He’s pretty cool.

Then there was Sid. Nice enough guy, we had some laughs, decent conversation. What blew it for me was the story he told me involving a kid shitting all over a room, and being cheap and needing to tell me about how cheap he is. We went to a pub in town for supper and drinks. We both started with a glass of mead. When the waitress came to refresh our drinks, we both ordered another and she informed us mead wasn’t part of the $3 pint special. I said that was fine, I still wanted the mead. Sid changed his order, saying he was cheap. But he laughed it off, and hey, $3 pints are a great deal. So we’re finishing up and the waitress asks if the bills should be separate or together. He answered “separate” so fast I thought I saw Speedy Gonzales shoot out of his mouth. And once the waitress left, he looked at me and said, “I told you I was cheap!” I don’t expect a man to pay for me all the time, but if you can’t pick up the cheque on the first date and then make a point of telling me you’re cheap, I won’t be seeing you again.
So after that, we said good night and I found out one of his best friends is good friends with one of my best friends. I’m not surprised. Regina is super small. He asked me out again, but I was out of town when he did. I was worried I was going to have to tell him I didn’t really want to see him again at all, but when he messaged me, he called me “buddy”. Great, he thinks we should just be friends, no worries. I could do that. But once I got back into town, he asked me if I wanted to go out again. If I had liked him, I wouldn’t have been impressed with the confusion. As it was, out schedules didn’t match up and we just stopped talking.

Ontario Mike. Sweet guy, but only in town for a couple of months to work at the refinery. I thought maybe we could have something casual. Turns out he’s way too sweet for that. On our first date, we went for supper and to the bookstore. At the bookstore, every time I turned around, he was practically standing on top of me. He couldn’t stop touching me. But at the end of the night, he didn’t even try to kiss me. Fine by me because I probably would have awkwardly pulled away. We talked throughout the next few weeks and went out a couple more times. Nothing happened. Like, nothing. The most he did was stand really close to me and put his hand on my back at one point. He put himself into the friend zone pretty quickly. He’s not here anymore anyways though, so no big deal.

That’s about as interesting as that’s been. I’ll tell you about someone else next, but he needs his own post.

Leave a Reply

