Mr. Ed

So, back in August I went on a date with young Edward. He was 22. We met at Chapters for a coffee date. He arrived first and texted me, telling me what section he was in and that he was wearing shorts and a white hoodie. On paper, this guy sounded great. 6’4″, decent looking (will grow into his looks and be rather handsome in 5-10 years), smart, had a job as a T.A. at the university, studying for his LSATs and going into law school, had his own apartment. In reality, this guy was a kid who wore thick black socks pulled halfway up his calves, collected saliva in the corners of his mouth, and told me stories that I’m pretty sure only he and his group of nerd friends would think were cool. When I found him in Chapters (in the science section), he suggested we just wander around the store. Do you know how weird it is to wander up and down book aisles, trying to carry on a conversation with someone you just met? Let me tell you, it’s weird. I put a stop to that pretty quickly. I believe my exact words were, “This is weird. Let’s go sit down.” He suggested we sit outside. It was cloudy, windy, and started to rain. Great idea, Ed. Oh, I should also mention that this was our second attempt at a date. The first was a few days beforehand. We were going to meet at Chapters that time as well, but he texted me before the date to see if I would be willing to change the plan. I don’t remember exactly why, but I think it had something to do with Chapters being busy and noisy in the evening or something to that effect. So his suggestion was to meet at his house. He worded it as hoping I didn’t think he was a creep, but we could just have coffee at his house. I said, no thanks. There’s a million different places we can have coffee, and your house is not on that list. We settled on some other place and then he got called into work anyways. Some plagarism case that his professor needed help with. So we rescheduled for an afternoon date at Chapters. Our date ended as it started to rain. We said goodbye and that was the end of Mr. Ed.

Leave a Reply

