You Can’t Choose Your Family

I’m not gonna lie, my brother is a dumbass.

I don’t feel like giving too much background information on him right now, but I do want to rant about him. I spent one day with him. Not even a full 24 hours. It was around 9-10 hours. And that was all I could handle. Admittedley, he does have some redeeming qualitites, but he keeps those hidden most of the time.

David is a giant bullshiter. So much of what has come out of his mouth in the past has been either a lie or half-truth, and that makes it really, really hard to take him seriously. Especially when he has a captive audience who doesn’t call him on anything. Like my younger cousins. Yesterday, he was telling them about the first time he ever got beaten up by 5 guys. Yes, the first time. He also told them he’s been stabbed 3 times, and he definitely prefers getting beaten up. I also heard him telling them about the time he went to Mexico. This is the first time I’ve ever heard of him going to Mexico. Oh, he also mentioned that he’s not allowed to leave Canada either. The worst part is, although I don’t believe all his stories, none of them would surprise me if they were true. I just rolled my eyes and went and poured myself another glass of wine.

It was on our way home from the lake that I couldn’t keep my mouth shut any longer. We did the annual “Twinkle Tour” through town and were driving by the parents of one of my brother’s old high school friends. He wondered if his friend was home and I said he sure is, I can see him standing outside right there.

David:Look at those guys, smoking a joint without me!

Me: Holy you talk a lot.

David: YOU talk a lot.

Me: No, I really don’t.

David: What’s your issue with me?

Me: Really? You really needed to make a comment about drugs?

David: mumble mumble mumble

There is a time and a place for a comment like that, and in the truck, with your family, while driving around looking at Christmas light, is not the time, nor the place. It’s just one of those things he says, in the hopes of impressing someone. And who was there to impress? Mom? Dad? Me? Oh David, you’re so worldly and cool. Tell me more about how awesome you are.

My brother doesn’t have a vehicle at the moment so he was wondering how he was going to get back to Tisdale, where he’s been living, the next day. Dad said someone would drive him back in the morning. I think he had to work this morning or something. It’s only a 20 minute drive, but no one really wanted to do it after all that food and drink and in the dark. He seemed ok with it. But that was before I showed my distaste. As soon as we got home, he made some calls and informed us someone was going to pick him up shortly. I hope his early departure wasn’t on account of me *halo*

Did I mention that he didn’t give anyone Christmas gifts? Even though I always have something for him, and so do Mom and Dad. Clearly Christmas isn’t about getting things, and I never expect anything from anyone. If I want to give a gift, I’ll give it. For whatever reason. But my brother is a different story. The only time he’s ever given us gifts is when he was married. And that was because his wife bought and wrapped them. But he has no problem showing up for meals and gifts, and then acting like a douche who thinks the whole world is against him and owes him something.

Rant over.

3 thoughts on “You Can’t Choose Your Family

  1. Oh my! I just happened to stumble upon your blog and I love the name by the way! You’re posts are cracking me up. I think we all have a huge bullshitter in the family. Mine unfortunately is my dad. So, I can totally relate! Hope you don’t mind if I vent, maybe it will make you smile. This post made me laugh because my dad who has already been married 5 times and had countless girlfriends just called me on new years. He handed the phone to his new flavor of the season who then asked me if I could be a bridesmaid in her wedding?! Um…excuse me to who…my dad…oh, I laughed..I coulndn’t help it. My dad is totally using her and it’s completely rediculous. He has only known her for 4 months. I am closer in age to this woman than him! I live in AR and he wants me to spend my money to drive to the middle of TX for this wedding, his 6th wedding! Oh, and just to prove he’s full of shit…I live in the south, and I grew up with him saying the most racist comments I have ever heard, he also made fun of the handicapped people. I can’t even count all the times he has made horrible racist comments. And this woman is black and in a wheelchair..and I am supposed to believe this is his soulmate and true love?! I don’t have a problem that she’s black or in a wheelchair, but that proves that my dad is full of crap. And, it really hurts for him to go on and on about how happy he is with her and she’s his true love….and on and on..what about my mother?! She is such a good person, way better than this woman. Ok, well I kind of feel better after I have vented. This has really been bothering me lately..It makes me very angry..and it’s nice to get that off my chest.

Leave a Reply

