The Moment Passes

You know that feeling when the moment passes and it’d be too awkward to do what you wanted to do after that point?

During my first year of university (way back in 1999/2000), I was friendly with a girl in my intro psych lab. You know, the kind of friendly where you say hello and compare answers and stuff like that. It’s not like we hung out or anything. The next semester I signed up for some class that I don’t even remember anymore. It may have been art 100. It’s not important. The important thing is that a few classes in, my casual lab buddy recognized me and sat down beside me and started chatting. The class was 3 times a week and we sat together every day. I realized almost immediately that I did not know her name. I’m not sure if I couldn’t remember it of if I’d just never known it in the first place. I spent that whole first class sitting with her trying to remember it. No luck. I let it go. It felt like the moment where I could have apologized for not remembering her name and asking for it again had passed. But I wasn’t worried. In 2 months of classes, she never once used my name so I figured we were in the same boat. I was wrong. Towards the end of the semester, she says to me, “Hey Amy, I’m having a candle party next week. Would you like to come?” Fuck. She did know my name! Now what? “Sure buddy! I’d love to! What’s your address and phone number? Wait, on second thought, you’d better write it down for me.” So she wrote her info down for me, complete with her name. Tanya. Nope, doesn’t ring a bell. I think she may have suspected that I did not know her name.

Today at work we ordered some hot and sour soup and some fresh rolls for lunch (mmmmmmm). I ran out to pick it up. On my way out of the restaurant, a woman was just walking in and I knew who she was almost instantly, but I could not remember her name for the life of me. I don’t know if she recognized me or not. We worked together back in 2004 and I haven’t seen her since. I did have her phone number at one time, but that was about 5 phones ago. Anyways, I didn’t say anything, but by the time I had started driving away, I had remembered her name. Joan. But, the moment had passed. I did not drive back to the restaurant. I wish I had remembered her name when I saw her though, or just said hello anyways. I had always liked Joan. She’s got a wicked, dirty sense of humour.

One thought on “The Moment Passes

Leave a Reply

