He Was a Friend of Mine

Over the course of the last year, I’ve known 3 people who have had a loved one suffer a diabetes-related death. My heart aches thinking about them and reminds me of my own losses over the last 6 or so years. This song is for my cousin Keane who lost his best friend, my friend Dan who also lost his best friend, and my friend and fellow blogger Wendy who lost the love of her life.

He was a friend of mine
Every time I think of him
I just can’t keep from cryin’
‘Cause he was a friend of mine

He died on the road
He died on the road
He just kept on moving
Never reaped what he could sow
And he was a friend of mine

I stole away and cried
I stole away and cried
‘Cause I never had too much money
And I never been quite satisfied
And he was a friend of mine

He never done no wrong
He never done no wrong
A thousand miles from home
And he never harmed no one
And he was a friend of mine

He was a friend of mine
He was a friend of mine
Every time I hear his name Lord
I just can’t keep from cryin’
‘Cause he was a friend of mine

One thought on “He Was a Friend of Mine

Leave a Reply

