Horror Movie Sunday

I was on midnights all weekend (7pm-7am) so I didn’t do a whole heck of a lot. Mainly worked and slept. My last shift was Sunday so Rachel and I made plans for after I/we woke up. We went to Subway for lunch. I had a yummy footlong turkey and ham, no cheese sub. mmmm Subway. Totally left my coupons at home though so we both had to pay full price. She told me all about her weekend which had included seeing William Shatner on Friday night. He was passing through Regina on his tour and if anyone loves Shatner, it’s Rachel. You should see her Captain’s Pose 😉 From there we went back to my place to watch scary movies. We started with Grace. We didn’t know this at the time, but the movie was filmed in Regina. It wasn’t exactly scary, but it was definitely fucked up. A woman delivers her stillborn baby and loves her back to life. But it’s clear that the baby is still dead and lives on blood rather than milk. You know how men feel the pain of watching videos of other men get hit in the groin? Well, there were a lot of moments in this movie that I would classify as the female equivalent with breasts.

Next was the remake of Nightmare on Elm St. I had mistakenly bought it, not really looking at the cover. We wanted something to really scare us. This did not. It sucked. Hard. Sure, I jumped a couple of times. I always do. But I wasn’t scared. I have nightmares quite easily after watching scary movies, and I had none last night. Fail.

From there we went to Wok Box (which Rachel thought meant Edo, even though Wok Box was her suggestion) and picked up some yummy eats (Butter Chicken for me) on our way to her boyfriend’s house for a couple more movies. 30 Days of Night was first. I.Love.this.movie. I know some people hate it, but I don’t care. The vampires are intense. I saw it twice in the theatre and own a copy of it. I know what is going to happen and I still jump.

We ended the night with Doom. It was good, I enjoyed it. I doubt I’ll ever watch it again though. I didn’t like the videogame style at the end, and I don’t like Dwayne Johnson.

I was a little tense and jumpy on my drive home. But not bad. I think I need to watch something really really scary. Suggestions?

6 thoughts on “Horror Movie Sunday

  1. Try Wolf Creek. My wife said when she was about to go travelling in Australia years ago someone recommended it as a good guide to what backpacking in Australia is like. She didnt watch it before she went but we sat down a while ago and watched it together. Lets just say Im not going travelling in the Outback.

  2. Insidious. Sooooooo scary. And I know I get scared easily so that’s not saying alot…..but it’s legit.

  3. Ringu? I think that’s what the original Grudge w….. not cool. My heater started making the scary f*cking sound from that movie as I was typing this. Now I’m at a weird ass angle typing while looking over my shoulder. F*ck sakes…..Psycho is a good classic and why not give ‘It’ a try. I made it about 45 seconds into the opening credits. Now I’m freaked out. I’m going to go watch stupid cat videos on YouTube.

Leave a Reply

