Vacation and Weight Loss

So, I’m going to Mexico! I’ll be in Nuevo Vallarta from the 4th to the 11th of next month and I’m not sure what to do. I’ve been to Mexico twice before and I’ve never really cared what I ate or drank while there, and I don’t want to stray too much from that mentality, but I also don’t want to take too many steps back. I’ve got less than two weeks before departure and my plan is to really get back into a good eating and exercise routine so that while I’m there, it’ll already be on my mind and I won’t derail myself.

I’m an adventurous eater and will try almost anything at the buffet, especially things that look like something I would never be able to find back home. Last time I went, I really noticed that I wasn’t over-eating too terribly, but what I would do is try a little bit of everything. What that meant was, my stomach had no idea wtf was happening and rebelled against me at least 4 of the 7 days I was there. I’m trying to learn from my mistakes and still eat what I want, but not all at once. Do I really need to have a couple bites of seafood, beef, chicken, AND pork for supper? Probably not.

I really don’t think I’m interested in going to the gym while I’m there, but possibly a walk or two on the beach. What do you all do on vacation? Any little tips that help you keep close to your at-home path?

2 thoughts on “Vacation and Weight Loss

  1. A few months ago I spent a week in New York. I ate whatever I liked (including an over indulgent trip to the M&Ms Store.lol) but was able to maintain by going for a run in Central Park every morning.

    Life is about balance. Eat what you like, but find time to squeeze in some activity too. A walk on the beach, or a little time in the resort’s fitness centre will help with any guilt that might creep up.

  2. I try to think how a skinny person might eat on vacation. They would eat what they wanted but probably not clean (or lick) their plate. They probably wouldn’t snack a ton…especially if in the sun and in a swimsuit all day. And the beach is the perfect place to get great, fresh seafood. But I really try to exercise when on vacation too. It keeps me remembering to try to stay healthy. You can do it!!!

Leave a Reply

