The Great Bathing Suit Battle

Who hates shopping for and/or wearing a bathing suit? Yep, just as I thought. Everyone. I think I have a slightly warped view of myself where I don’t think I look too terrible in a bathing suit, but then again, I try to pick flattering ones and I don’t over-scrutinize. But even so, trying to find a bathing suit is almost impossible. As a plus size woman, I have to worry about all kinds of things. Clearly I’m not going to be wearing a bikini. I don’t think that I would wear one even if (when, I mean when) I were thin. But not because you think. I’m not worried about hiding a little leftover tummy. I’m 6 feet tall, so when I grew, it all happened relatively fast. Puberty, height, weight gain…all that lead to some pretty impressive stretch marks. They’ve faded, but I was really embarassed by them in high school. More than once I was asked in the change room what had happened. It looked like Freddie Krueger had run his hands down my torso in the throes of passion and then lightly caressed my hips. One of the reasons I quit taking gym after grade 10. I don’t care about them so much now and have very little problem changing in front of anyone, but still, I don’t want them on display on a beach. And who knows what they’ll look like without all the extra weight too. I could end up with horizontal washboard abs. On the otherhand, I can’t wait to wear a retro, high waisted bikini. That thought makes me happy 🙂

I’ve drifted a little again. Back to my original thought. Shopping for a bathing suit sucks (Advice: 3 Way mirrors are your frenemy. Tread lightly). First of all, I want to find something that fits. This is a challenge with my height. Most one pieces aren’t long enough for my torso so what inevitably ends up happening is flat boobs and butt floss. Not to mention the epic camel toe. So one pieces are generally out. Which is really a shame because there are some super cute suits out there these days. So I’m left to finding separates. Which I don’t mind too much. Except when the tops are too short again. If I were to wear one of those, you might as well photoshop me into a “People of Walmart” photo and send it around in an email to all your contacts. So I have to find something that fits, but is still cute. I have a couple bottoms and a couple tops at the moment, but I have a feeling the one set is going to be too big for me for sure. It was already a little big back in April when I wore it last. In fact, when I was playing in the ocean, a wave pants me. I’m not sure if the sun or my ass was brighter that day. In any case, you shouldn’t look directly at either.

Next, of course, is trying to find a suit that hides my hips, thighs, upper arms, stomach, that weird above-stomach torso roll, and makes my tits look so great that the rest doesn’t matter. These might be as close as I get…

There isn’t a whole lot out for swimwear at the moment in the few plus size stores in Regina so I’ve been scouring the online sites. Unfortunately, I only have 9 business days for something to get here if I order it. And most of the sites ship out of the US, so even if I choose a rush delivery, there’s still a chance of delay at customs. Dilema. I’m still deciding if I should risk something not getting here and order it anyways, or if I should just go with what I already have. Or hope that in the next couple weeks, the retail store I work at will get some in stock. I would really rather try swimsuits on in a store than try and order something that will fit properly and look good. Hmmm…..

4 thoughts on “The Great Bathing Suit Battle

  1. Hello! Can you use Land’s end? Over here in the UK they have a long torso option and go up to UK size 24, which I think is is US 26. With lots of stretch. I was wearing a UK 22 in Turkey this summer while I was actually UK 26, and it made no real difference to fit, was fine. I’m also wearing it now down at an 16/18 and it’s just about decent. They have mix and match options here too, which is so cool for me with my exaggerated pear shape. All the best, MrsM

    • I checked it out. They don’t have very many options right now and it looks like the tall option only goes up to a size 18 and I’m at about a 22 right now 😦 But thanks for the suggestion! I’ll definitely keep them in mind as I continue to lose. Thanks for reading 🙂

  2. I know how you feel. Bathing suits are not my friend. How about going “sporty”? How about a running tank top, one that has thicker material & built in support, and a pair of shorts (like, really short ones so you can still swim comfortably). If you get the top & bottom in the same colour then it will look like a set. You’ll still look cute but also be comfortable.

  3. I was totally going to suggest Lands End too! Bummer…

    I wonder if I’ll be comfortable wearing a bikini one day. I totally have the stretch marks. I have no idea what they’ll look like when I get that small. I guess we’ll find out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

