More Media

While we’re on the subject of TV, I was reading a post from The Anti-Jared today called Imperfect Perfectionist. He talks about a Marie Claire article written by Maura Kelly on the subject of overweight people and overweight people on tv. A very ignorant article I might add. You can read it for yourself here.

I love the show Mike and Molly. I think it’s well-written and well-acted. I laugh during every episode. Out loud. That’s right, a real life lol. Finding someone to love and love you back, just as you are nonetheless, isn’t easy. And you know what, losing weight isn’t easy either. And for someone who got skinny by starving themselves to say something like “But … I think obesity is something that most people have a ton of control over. It’s something they can change, if only they put their minds to it,” well that’s just ignorant and hypocritical. Sure, she kind of half-heartedley apologizes after the backlash she received, but why did she write it in the first place? I really don’t give a fuck that she has struggled with anorexia and probably still does to this day. You know why I don’t care? Because she’s a mean person. While I can have sympathy for her own personal struggles with food and body image, no addiction is an excuse to behave hatefully.

Leave a Reply

