The Day I Didn’t Go To The Gym

So, no matter how hard I try to train myself to sleep on my back, I can’t help still sleeping on my side some of the time. This position is most comfortable for me, but it kills my shoulder. The right one in particular. Sometimes I sleep on a pillow and elevate my head to create kind of a “pocket” for my shoulder to rest in and that kind of works. But I inevitably end up curling my shoulder under and crushing it throughout the night. Luckily, I have some sweet benefits at work and I am able to get reimbursed for massages throughout the year. I try to go at least once a month, sometimes more.

My plan for yesterday was to get up early, go to the gym, shower, go for lunch with my friend Ashley, then go for my massage. Well, the getting up early part didn’t really work out. I shut my alarm off and went back to sleep and when I woke up again, I didn’t have time to go. I decided I’d go in the evening instead, even though I really wanted to go in the morning so my massage would be after the workout. Ashley and I had a great catch-up visit during our meal at Brown’s Social House. Omg, delicious! I had the Tahitian tuna with the cowgirl salad and braised red cabbage and goat cheese instead of rice. Only 450 calories! The atmosphere was really cool and relaxed, the service was great, and obviously I liked the food. Highly recommend checking them out if you haven’t already. I also took the opportunity to tell her about what I’m doing. I’m gradually allowing the people in my life to read the blog and told a few more yesterday evening as well.

After lunch, I headed to my massage at Jane’s. It’s my favourite day spa. Well, pretty much the only one I’ve ever been to, but they’re amazing there. Always friendly and really know what they’re doing. I usually see Sonia for my massages. She’s very petite, but has magic hands. She whipped my shoulder back into place and it feels soo much better today.

Almost every time I have a massage, I fall asleep. But not a sweet, peaceful sleep. Well, not for Sonia anyways. I snore, snort, and honk and try to pretend I didn’t just fall asleep. And I always come out with JBF hair (just been fucked). All the hair, none of the fun. But at least my shoulder feels good.

This is after I’ve gotten into the car and tamed it down a bit. Parts were sticking straight up 5 minutes before this picture.

I stopped for a few quick groceries, and when I got home, I made my roommate Tricia and I some yummy apple cheddar snacks. It’s a recipe from Anna Olson that we found in Chatelaine magazine…

1 grated apple, 1 cup reduced fat cheddar cheese (I used old), 1/2 cup plain yogurt, 1/3 cup chopped walnuts, grainy mustard (I used Gravelbourg Saskatoon Berry Mustard. Bought at the Co-op. Who knew the small town of Gravelbourg made mustard?!), and 6 small whole wheat tortillas. Mix all ingredients, divide between tortillas, wrap, and eat hot or cold. To warm up, place the wrap on a paper towel and microwave for about 30 seconds. Yum! My only complaint was that it was a little runny so I think next time, I’ll chop the apples instead.

Oh, and before groceries, I stopped at Bath Goddess and bought some yummy smelling vanilla brown sugar body scrub and body butter. Heavenly. I didn’t even know they had a blog until today and apparently I should have bought my butter last Monday when it was 40% off. Dammit!

Now, my plan was to go to the gym in the evening since I missed it in the morning, but I had all kinds of excuses not to go. I also had a coupon for Sally beauty supply for 15% off that I had specifically spent the right amount there last month in order to get the coupon for August which was expiring yesterday. Since I would have had to drive to the south end to go to Sally anyways, I figured I should just go to the gym at the same time. But it was 5pm and would be busy with people just getting off work and I hate going to the gym when it’s busy. But I didn’t want to make two trips to the south end of the city. You can see my dilema. What I ended up doing was going to Superstore for groceries instead and not going to Sally or to the gym. And then I was distracted at the grocery store when I did the self-checkout and I forgot to take something with a 50% sticker on it to the associate to give me the discount and paid full price for about to expire, never tried before quark. What is quark? Some kind of soft cheese apparently. And it’s $8 full price! After that I came home and watched 3 episodes of Big Rich Texas and felt pretty good about the kind of person I am.

I almost didn’t go to the gym this morning either. I almost gave in and let myself fall back asleep. But I didn’t as you know from my last post. Yay me!

Leave a Reply

