A Fairytale For Me

I think it’s time to tell you why I chose the title for my blog. I read a few articles and some new blogs today with people (women in particular), writing about how they want to be skinny and hoping to create the perfect body. So I want to be clear about what my end goal is. I went through a few name options, but nothing really seemed to fit what I’m looking for and what I want to accomplish. And then it hit me! Bam! Foul ball to the head! Just kidding. I’ve only ever been hit with a baseball once and it was more of a catch since it landed right between my thighs. It was a line drive and I tensed up. That, coupled with my oversized thighs, made for an interesting catching mitt. Turns out it’s a great way to get that third out that your team really needs. I was brusied for weeks. Aaanyways, back to my blog title.

Fairytales. Princes, dragons, witches, frogs, magic, love, bravery, honour, ugly fat women, mean fat women, jolly fat women, and of course, beautiful (and skinny) princesses. When you’re an overweight little girl, who exactly in the story are you supposed to identify with? There’s the one you look like, and then the one you want to look like. And neither really represent who you actually are. As an adult, I know I don’t have to identify with any of them. I can create my own fairytale. And that’s what I’m doing with this blog. The tagline “Once upon a skinny time” doesn’t mean I want to be skinny. It means I want to be skinny for me. I want a body that I’m totally comfortable in. I’m not going to put unrealistic expectations on myself and think that I’m going to look like Gisele after this is all said and done. I just want the best body for me, a body that is strong and healthy, but still belongs to a woman. I’m always going to be hungry. I’m always going to have that little voice inside my head encouraging me to eat that bag of chips or have a second hamburger or devour a tub of dip. It’s always going to be there, but it’s not always going to be loud. It’s already getting softer. And I’m getting stronger.

So that’s my fairytale. And I’m going to get it.

6 thoughts on “A Fairytale For Me

  1. Tag surfed my way onto your blog tonight and I loved the description of your blog title! I’m aiming for that as well – just “comfortable”. I don’t need to be what the world would deem ask skinny, just a healthy size. Good luck with your journey!

  2. I have fought and fought over the years to lose weight. Get down about 30 pounds and put on 35, back and forth, even had a job where I walked for a living, and nothing seemed to work. Then I met you and your blog and your honesty and yep, I’m ready!!
    Thehungrycinderella is amazing and we both will reach our beautiful healthy weight.

Leave a Reply

