Is It Because Of The Tropical Storm?

Let me explain my job a little. I work for Saskpower. It’s the power company in Saskatchewan. I work out of the outage centre, and in the simplest terms, I take calls regarding power outages and dispatch someone out to fix it. I don’t hate it, but I also don’t want to make it my career. I want something more gratifying and am slowly working towards it, but for the time being, I’m comfortable. One of the best and worst aspects of my job is the shiftwork. I work a combination of 8 and 12 hour shifts on a 12 week rotation. A positive to this is that I often have days off during the week which is great for shopping and appointments. And every 12 weeks, I get almost a full 7 days off. The cons? I’m at work for 12 hours at a time, and often have to miss out on the things my friends are doing at regular times of day. And then there’s the overtime. On the one hand, the money is great. On the other hand, it means I make the choice to give up my personal time to work more. And in the case of last night and the night before, I got up at 215am to be at work for 3am and work 12 hours. My sleep really suffers. And it’s harder to organize my meals when I do a shift like this. I’m scattered and rarely eat at the same time every day. (I’m thankful Walter doesn’t gorge himself and that I can just leave food out for him to eat when he’s hungry or else the poor little guy would be subjected to eating on my schedule too)

Anyways, the reason I got away from the real reason I’m posting right now. It has nothing to do with my job per se, but it’s better if you know what I do. We are having a giant planned power outage today with thousands of customers being off for 12 hours. It’s been well advertised, but of course not everyone pays attention or listens to the radio at the right time or whatever. So the majority of the calls this morning were from customers wanting to know about the outage. I received one call from a woman who was calling on behalf of her mother-in-law who lived in the outage area. If I had to guess, the woman was not from Saskatchewan (people who are from Saskatchewan tend to run the word together and it sounds more like s-skatchwan, whereas outsiders really enunciate each syllable) and probably not even from Canada (at least I hope so, given her lack of knowledge of Canadian geographics). She asked what the reason was for the power outage and I told her it was due to some major repairs and maintenance. Her response? “So it’s not because of the tropical storm then?” Umm…what?

I get a lot of calls from people concerned about what they’re going to do or eat with the power off. It’s summer. We get so few hot days in Sas-katch-ew-an where the weather cooperates, so why not go outside? Use your bbq. Or make a delicious wrap like I did for lunch. Let me tell you about my 331 calorie wrap. I started with a garlic pesto tortilla, spread a couple tablespoons of hummus on it, added sweet baby lettuce, grilled red and yellow peppers (Europe’s Best has them in the frozen vegetable freezer section. Convenience!), 3 slices of turkey, 5 slices grape tomatoes, and put it in my mouth straight away. mmmmm I’d better stock up on ingredients and a cooler because once that tropical, landlocked prairie storm hits, I’ll be out of power.

3 thoughts on “Is It Because Of The Tropical Storm?

  1. Tropical Prairie storm! i love it. also tell me more about the garlic pesto. Im not sure i have ever tried pesto and if im about to start i better do it with garlic.

    • I mean, even though she was clearly not from here, if her mother-in-law lives here, shouldn’t she at least have a vague idea of where SK is? And realize that half the US would have to float away before we’d get a tropical storm?
      The wrap was garlic pesto flavour. But pesto is also very yummy. I like to put it on spaghettini and sprinkle some pine nuts on top.

  2. What youre saying is completely true. I know that everybody must say the same thing, but I just think that you put it in a way that everyone can understand. I also love the images you put in here. They fit so well with what youre trying to say. Im sure youll reach so many people with what youve got to say.

Leave a Reply

