These Snozberries Taste Like Snozberries

I find it easiest to stay on track with my eating when I’m at work. I work in a dungeon, usually with 1-2 people at a time for 8-12 hours at a time. We have a full kitchen so I pack a variety of meals and snacks for my shifts. We do have a little canteen, but the options are limited and it’s hard for us to leave to get food if we’re busy. So I find it really easy to eat healthy at work. It’s when I’m on my days off that I find myself tempted. But I’m staying strong and doing good so far. Today is day 2 of my 3 days off.

I’ve been working so much that I haven’t really gotten to spend much quality time with my roommate. I don’t know about the rest of you, but I generally become really good friends with my roommates. Unless they’re total assholes. I could write a whole book on the bad roommates I’ve had. But I digress. Tricia and I have been living together since May. It’s been great! I’ve known her for almost a year now, which means she’s also been dating my friend for roughly a year. I’ve already told him that if they break up, I’m keeping her. I’m not moving again lol We get along fabulously and share a lot of the same struggles which is why we decided to get healthy together. But before we decided this, our time together would generally consist of watching a movie and gossiping and eating. We’d grab fast food, order a pizza, pick up some ice cream, open a couple bags of chips, whatever we happened to be craving at the time, and spend the next 2-4 hours eating and sitting. A great recipe for weight gain. Fast forward to yesterday when the two of us made plans to make some time to hangout in the afternoon. This time, instead of getting a bunch of snacks together and eating our faces off, or on I guess is more accurate, we took the dogs to the dog park for an hour. We made some yummy lunches when we got home (chicken and rice for T, 4 oz tenderloin and mashed potatoes/cauliflower), and then watched Super Troopers (hilarioius as always!). Without snacking. It was a lovely afternoon. I’m trying to do more things like this. For instance, one of my friends wanted to go for boneless dry rib night at a local pool hall, The Rack. Now, The Rack has delicious pub-style food. The wings are amazing! But that’s all they have. Everything on the menu is laden with fat and calories and I’m just not at a point yet where I feel strong enough to go and just sit there and watch other people enjoy the food while I sip on a water (I also love beer and they serve them in schooners. That’s harder to resist than the food). So I suggested that if she picked a different place to eat, one with more options than a house salad, I’d definitely be in. I also suggested that if she wanted to go for ribs with another friend and then meet up after for a walk around the park, I’d be down for that also. I didn’t hear back from her. That’s ok though. I haven’t really had a conversation with her about what I’m doing yet and I do need to do that. With a lot of people. The only people who know I’m trying to lose weight and get healthy are those of you who read this blog and a handful of my friends. I feel too vulnerable at this point to really let people in on it though. So while I’m going to keep letting people know about my journey, I think I’ll keep my friend and family blog audience to a minimum for the time being and rely on the support of those around me who are going through or have gone through the same things.

4 thoughts on “These Snozberries Taste Like Snozberries

  1. I was the same when I started trying to lose weight – I went it alone. One day I just up and went to a WW meeting with a very new friend, without talking to anyone else. I joined that night and only after I had lost about 30 lbs did I start telling people. Mainly because that when people started to notice. One thing I found that is really tough if you are a very social person who goes out a lot … is having to change your social activities, where you go, and even who you hang out with. I slowly but surely lost 3 very good friends when I could not hang out with them anymore. But I was putting myself first which is good. I had to concentrate on getting to bed early so I would not stay up and get hungry and snack. Also I wanted to get up early and workout in the mornings, work all day and spend time in the evening maybe walking or preparing healthy food. Weight loss is time consuming!!! Lots of planning and preparing – this is very important to be successful.

    I think starting this journey on your own, is the best way to go. Get your head in the right mindspace and by the time people start noticing, you will feel so good about how far you have come, you don’t feel bad about not being able to do the old unhealthy things anymore and if some friends don’t understand, you know they won’t be your friends. Be wary of jealous friends … anyone who commits to a goal and goes for it is gonna have some jealous people who will always have something negative to say and will try to sabotage you. They don’t want you to change! And it also makes them look at themselves and what goals they are not working towards. Ignore them and stand your ground. The only person who will get you to where you want to be is you.

    • Thanks sassy lady!
      That sucks about the friends, but I know what you mean. This is important to me and the people who realize that will be the ones who stick around and support me. Like you! 😉 lol

Leave a Reply

