Fuck You Menses. You too, McDonalds.

Yep, that’s right, it’s my time of the month. I’m on my period. Aunt Flo is in town. I’m riding the crimson wave. So what, you wanna fight about it? Normally it doesn’t bother me a whole lot, but it’s really fucking with my new healthy eating plan. In addition, I’ve been working the last 12 days without a full 24 hours off at any point with the last 3 being 12 hour midnight shifts. And I’ve still got 2 more to go.

I’ve been finding it very hard the last few days to keep on track. I woke up starving yesterday and had two lunches. Today I stopped at McDonalds on my way home at 7am because I couldn’t resist the pull of the sausage mcmuffin. Now, in the past I’d usually get two sandwiches, a hashbrown and an orange juice. And every single goddamn time, they’d fuck it up. The McDonalds on Prince of Wales Dr is notorious for not getting my orders right. In fact, the day before I started my healthy eating plan, I stopped for a “last meal” and they gave me beef instead of chicken. And I use the term “beef” lightly. I always get the sausage mcmuffin with cheese and no egg. One time, after confirming the no egg part with me 3 times, I ended up with a sausage mcmuffin with egg and no sausage. Another time I ordered the bacon cheddar burger, no onions, no mustard. I received a bacon cheeseburger with onions and mustard. And no bacon. Why did I keep going to the same McDonalds you ask? It’s close, don’t worry about it. Anyways, this morning, after deciding I was going to stop for McDonalds and break the fast food once a week rule (I have plans to indulge tomorrow and will not be changing them so don’t even suggest it), do you think they got my order right? No! But it’s not what you’re thinking. I ordered a sausage mcmuffing, no egg, and a hashbrown. The mcmuffin was perfect. Perfectly toasted, the cheese was perfectly place (you know what I’m talking about. Most of the time they slap it on and nothing is lined up and the cheese is hanging way off to one side) The hashbrown was hot, perfectly crisp. It was delicious and satisfying. But wait, what’s this? A second hashbrown that I did not order? Is it possible that after fucking up almost every single order and not giving me what I ordered when I didn’t care about eating right, they actually gave me more than I ordered? And made it too delicious to resist? Yep, that’s exactly what they did. Bastards.

I made sure to go for a walk with Walter (my dog) today to try to counteract some of it. It ended up being a short walk though. It was stifling outside. 33 freaking degrees! We only made it a half hour before heading back for the sweet, refreshing air-conditioned climate of the house. So, not a great day. I’m still under my calories, but I feel tired, and bloated, and weak of willpower. I blame the blood.

2 thoughts on “Fuck You Menses. You too, McDonalds.

  1. You will probably find after a while … you won’t want the fast food days. They throw everything off. Eating that food just makes you crave more of it. Makes you tired. Lethargic. Won’t wanna work out. Also referring back to your “everybody poops” post … well you know! 🙂 The crappy feeling that lasts long after is not worth the 10 minutes of endorphin boosting immediate gratification of fast food. Maybe once in a while … but it will get less and less.

    • The only time I want it is when I’m on my way home after a 12 hour shift and it’s on the way and it’s fast and easy. But I try to make sure I have something already prepared or planned so that it’s easier not to stop. But as for cravings, I’m not finding that I’ve been having too many. And you’re right…I’m already trying not to even have the fast food days every week. It’s not worth it to feel like crap after, or waste a bunch of my calories for the day.

Leave a Reply

